History


The earliest mention found of the Canadian Association of Fine Arts Deans appeared in the University of Victoria's campus newspaper, The Ring, in 2006.

"The late Peter Smith (who retired from UVic in 1999) was a member of the Canadian Association of Fine Arts Deans, and the organization's president from 1975-77. 'It was a funny organization, because there were only about five of us--only about five faculties of fine arts in Canada. We met under the International Conference of Fine Arts Deans, and sounded much more important than we actually were. But we may have had a minor role to play in shaping national cultural policy at that time. I can remember having a long and passionate conversation with Lister Sinclair, who was then vice-president of CBC, about the role the arts should play in radio and television in Canada,' Smith recalled."

CAFAD met regularly with the International Council of Fine Arts Deans (ICFAD) in the early years, as Peter Smith explained. Maurice Yacowar, a Dean of Fine Arts at the University of Calgary, recalled attending such meetings in Amsterdam and in New Zealand. However, Joyce Zemans who was Dean of Fine Arts at York from 1985 – 88 recalls hosting a CAFAD meeting at York at some point during her tenure and Mary Blackstone said it was her impression in 1990 that there had been regular yearly CAFAD meetings for some time. In 1989, CAFAD joined American colleagues for the annual ICFAD meeting in Ottawa, possibly the first time ICFAD met in a Canadian city. Canadian participants took great pride in an enthusiastic rendition of Oh Canada at the Saturday night banquet.

The first CAFAD Symposium was hosted by Dalhousie University in 1990. The topic was "Art in the Schools" and the Chair, John P. L. Roberts, organized a full day of presentations by members and guests. Roberts was a very pro-active for his three year term, reflecting a previous decision that "CAFAD should be more dynamic." Following a distinguished career in Music at the CBC, he was appointed Dean of the Faculty of Fine Arts at the University of Calgary in 1987.

It was at the 1990 Halifax meeting that members voted to engage Mary Hughes as a part time manager. Attendees included:

Mary Blackstone, University of Regina
Gordon Jones, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Alan Hughes, University of Victoria
Alice Mansell, University of Western Ontario
Joy Cohnstaedt, York University
Neil Armstrong, The Banff Centre
Raymond Montpetit, Université du Québec à Montréal
Maurice Yacowar. Emily Carr Institute
William Godfrey, Mount Allison University
Scott MacDougall
Ric Gomez
Vondis Miller, University of Lethbridge
John Roberts, University of Calgary
Elvira Gonnella, Dalhousie University
Richard Wedgewood, University of Manitoba – School of Music
Joseph Culliton, University of Windsor

There were 23 institutions on the membership list in the fall of 1990 although only a handful had paid a membership fee. A year later when the first newsletter appeared, there were 31 fully paid members. There was small but steady growth through the 1990s with membership reaching 40 institutions for the first time in the 1997 despite an increase in fees from $65 to $80. Grant MacEwan College and Augustana University College were the first colleges to join CAFAD.

The first newsletter, just four pages long, came out in Winter 1991.

The struggle to resolve the creative research dilemma is referred to in the Minutes of the 1990 AGM, which are the earliest Minutes in CAFAD's files. Chair John Roberts suggested that a Committee be struck to study problems with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and Canada Council guidelines and jurisdictions. Alice Mansell, Joy Cohnstaedt and Vondis Miller agreed to serve, with Mary Blackstone as Chair.

Dean Mary Blackstone prepared a brief for CAFAD on these funding issues in the fall of 1991 and submitted it to SSHRC and the Canada Council. Dr. Blackstone continued her efforts in this direction over several years, including the year she served as Chair of CAFAD. She reported in December of 1993 that the joint Canada Council-SSHRC Committee was reviewing the 1991 brief. Two years later, CAFAD provided a response to the bi-Council report entitled, " A Review of Access to Support for the Fine Arts Community."

The AGM in 1992 was hosted by the University of Victoria with 18 attending, and in 1993 it took place at McMaster with the focus on "Sponsorship of the Arts".

Seth Feldman, Dean of Fine Arts at York took over as Chair in 1995, and for three years provided strong leadership for the continually growing group. Early efforts to set up a List Serve and a website began at the time.

Ryerson's Ira Levine was CAFAD's Chair from 1995 to 1996. He focused on CAFAD's participation in the Education International Catalogue, a project intended to give Canada's fine and performing arts schools and faculties a higher profile internationally.

Phillip Silver (York) and Christopher Jackson ( Concordia) were Co-Chairs after Levine followed by Barbara Lounder (NSCAD) and Sheila Petty, Dean, Faculty of Fine Arts, University of Regina. During the terms of these chairs, CAFAD's efforts were directed at the research/creation issue and working with SSHRC on the implementation of their pilot Research/Creation Grant project. Catherine Wild, Dean, Faculty of Fine Arts, Concordia University, took the chair in 2009.

Bob Cross took over as Executive Director in early 2011 and the Association management was assumed by his company, Megram Consulting Services Ltd.

Historique


C'est dans le journal de campus de l'Université de Victoria, The Ring, que l'on trouve, en 2006, la première mention de l'Association des doyens en beaux-arts du Canada.

« Le regretté Peter Smith (retraité de UVic depuis 1999) était membre de l'Association des doyens en beaux-arts du Canada et son président de 1975 à 1977. 'C'était une drôle d'organisation puisque l'on n'était que 5 - cinq facultés des beaux-arts au Canada. Nous nous rencontrions dans le cadre du International Conference of Fine Arts Deans et nous nous donnions des airs fort importants. Par contre, nous avons peut-être eu un rôle mineur à jouer dans les choix de politiques culturelles du temps. Je me souviens de conversations longues et passionnées avec Lister Sinclaire, à ce moment vice-président de CBC, concernant le rôle que devrait jouer les arts à la radio et à la télévision au Canada' se rappelle Smith. »

L'ADBAC se réunissait souvent avec l'International Council of Fine Arts Deans (ICFAD) à ses débuts, comme l'explique Peter Smith. Maurice Yacowar, doyen des beaux-arts à l'Université de Calgary, se souvient de rencontres à Amsterdam et en Nouvelles-Zélandes. Par contre, Joyce Zemans, doyenne des beaux-arts à York de 1985 à 1988 se rappelle être l'hôte lors d'une réunion de l'ADBAC à York pendant ses années en poste. Mary Blackstone dit se rappeler qu'en 1990, il y avait depuis déjà un certain temps, des réunions annuelles de l'ADBAC. En 1989, l'ADBAC se joint à ses collègues américains pour la rencontre annuelle de l'ICFAD à Ottawa, possiblement la première qu'une telle rencontre se tient en sol canadien. Les participants du Canada ont écouté avec fierté l'hymne national pendant le banquet du samedi soir.

Le premier symposium de l'ADBAC a eu lieu à l'Université Dalhousie en 1990. Le sujet était « L'art dans les écoles » et le président, John P. L. Roberts avait organisé une journée de présentations par des membres et invités. Roberts est demeuré, pendant son mandat de trois ans, très proactif afin de respecter une décision antérieure voulant que « l'ADBAC soit plus dynamique ». Suivant une carrière distinguée en musique à CBC, il a été nommé doyen de la faculté des arts de l'Université de Calgary en 1987.

C'est pendant la rencontre à Halifax en 1990 que les membres ont choisi d'embaucher Mary Hughes comme gestionnaire à temps partiel. En présence :

Mary Blackstone, University of Regina
Gordon Jones, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Alan Hughes, University of Victoria
Alice Mansell, University of Western Ontario
Joy Cohnstaedt, York University
Neil Armstrong, The Banff Centre
Raymond Montpetit, Université du Québec à Montréal
Maurice Yacowar. Emily Carr Institute
William Godfrey, Mount Allison University
Scott MacDougall
Ric Gomez
Vondis Miller, University of Lethbridge
John Roberts, University of Calgary
Elvira Gonnella, Dalhousie University
Richard Wedgewood, University of Manitoba – School of Music
Joseph Culliton, University of Windsor

Il y avait 23 institutions membres en automne 1990 mais seule une poignée avait payé les frais d'adhésion. Un an plus tard, lors de la parution du premier bulletin de nouvelles, 31 membres payaient les frais d'adhésion. Pendant les années 90, une croissance lente mais régulière a permis d'atteindre 40 institutions pour la première fois en 1997 malgré une augmentation des frais d'adhésion de 65$ à 80$. Grant MacEwan College et Augustana University College ont été les premiers collèges à se joindre à l'ADBAC.

Le premier bulletin de nouvelles fut publié en hiver 1991 et ne comptait que quatre pages.

L'on note la lutte pour résoudre le dilemme de recherche créative dans les minutes de l'AGA de 1990, les plus anciennes minutes disponibles dans les dossiers de l'ADBAC. Le président John Roberts avait proposé qu'un comité soit créé pour se pencher sur ce problème en tenant compte des lignes directrices et juridictions du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSHC) et du Conseil des arts du Canada. Alice Mansell, Joy Cohnstaedt et Vondis Miller avaient accepté d'y participer, avec Mary Blackstone comme présidente.

La doyenne Mary Blackstone a préparé un bref rapport pour l'ADBAC sur les enjeux de financement à l'automne 1991 et l'a soumis au CRSHC et au Conseil des arts. Dr. Blackstone a poursuivi ses efforts à cette fin pendant plusieurs années, incluant lorsqu'elle occupera le poste de présidente de l'ADBAC. En décembre 1993, elle annoncera que le comité Conseil des arts-CRSHC réexaminerait le rapport de 1991. Deux ans plus tard, l'ADBAC fournit une réponse au double conseil intitulé : «A Review of Access to Support for the Fine Arts Community ».

L'AGA de 1992, présentée par l'Université de Victoria, a accueilli 18 membres et, en 1993, eut lieu à McMaster sous le thème « Encourager les arts ».

Seth Feldman, doyen des beaux-arts à York, prendra la présidence en 1995 et offrira pendant trois ans un leadership fort pour faire progresser le groupe. Les premiers efforts pour mettre en place une liste de distribution et un site Web furent alors entamés.

Ira Levine de Ryerson assura la présidence de 1995 à 1996. Il misa sur la participation de l'ADBAC au Education International Catalogue, un projet dont l'objectif était d'accroître la visibilité des facultés et écoles des beaux arts et des arts de la scène du Canada sur la scène internationale.

Phillip Silver (York) et Christopher Jackson ( Concordia) ont été coprésidents suivant Levine et ont été suivi par Barbara Lounder (NSCAD) et Shela Petty, doyenne de la faculté des beaux-arts à l'Université de Regina. Pendant leurs mandats, les efforts de l'ADBAC ont été concentrés sur les enjeux liés à la recherche/création et au travail de collaboration avec le CRSHC en vue de l'implantation du projet pilote de Subvention de recherche-création en arts et lettres. Catherine Wild, doyenne de la faculté des beaux-arts à Concordia Université occupera ensuite le poste de présidente en 2009.

En 2011, Bob Cross devient directeur et sa compagnie, Megram Consulting Services Ltd., gestionnaire de l'association.