Wilfrid Laurier University Logo

Wilfrid Laurier University

About Wilfrid Laurier University

Wilfrid Laurier University is a leading Canadian university with more than 17,000 undergraduate and graduate students. The University has several Ontario campuses in Waterloo and Brantford, as well as locations in Kitchener, Toronto and Chongqing, China. Its specialties include: arts and social sciences, business and economics, music, science, social work, education and theology. The university was founded in 1911 as the Evangelical Lutheran Seminary in Canada and remains home of the affiliated Waterloo Lutheran Seminary. The university is also home to the Academic Council on the United Nations System, the internationally acclaimed Penderecki String Quartet, WLU Press and the Robert Langen Art Gallery.


About Laurier's Faculty of Music

The Faculty of Music fosters artistic and scholarly development of the highest caliber and provides a creative and collegial environment. The classes are small, ranging from 15 to 30 students, except with music history which has approximately 80 students. All courses are taught by distinguished scholars, performers and educators. Internationally-renowned guest artists often teach weekly master classes. Students have private lessons every week.

Undergraduate Program

  • Honours Bachelor of Music (BMus)
    • Music Education
    • Music History
    • Theory
    • Performance
    • Composition
  • Honours Bachelor of Music Therapy (BMT)

Graduate Program

  • Master of Music Therapy Program