University of Victoria Logo

University of Victoria

About the University of Victoria

The University of Victoria is the second oldest public research university in British Columbia, Canada. It is a research intensive university located in Saanich and Oak Bay, outside of downtown Victoria. It offers over 100 innovative programs to more than 20,000 students on its diverse and beautiful campus.

About the Faculty of Fine Arts

The University of Victoria is unique – it has the province’s only standalone Faculty of Fine Arts. The Faculty has more than 1,200 undergraduate and graduate students every year. With over 150 instructors with careers as acclaimed artists, writers, musicians, actors, directors, designers and filmmakers, they are dedicated to teaching, research and creative work.  For over 40 years, the Faculty has been a participant in Victoria’s greater cultural scene.



There are five departments of the Faculty of Fine Arts:

  • History in Art
  • School of Music
  • Theatre
  • Visual Arts
  • Writing